Program

We are excited to announce CHIMe 2021 will be virtual.

We will host panel sessions on Zoom. The link will be shared with those who have registered closer to event.

Times and speakers for each session will be added later after the registration is complete. The entire event should not exceed 4 hours per day.

DAY 1 – Friday May 7th, 2021

Introduction:

(9:45am – 10:00am PT / 12:45pm – 1:00pm)

Organizers welcome our speakers and attendees!

Keynote Speaker

(10:00am – 10:45am PT / 1:00pm – 1:45pm ET)

Deana Anglin, Google

Single Track 1: Remote Work and Collaboration Panel

(11:00am – 11:45am PT / 2:00pm – 2:45pm ET)

Moses Namara, Clemson University 

Aleshia Hayes, University of North Texas

Jaelle Scheuerman, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory

Elissa Redmiles, Max Planck Institute for Software Systems

Multiple Track Session A: Funding Sessions

(12:00 – 12:45pm PT / 3:00pm – 3:45pm ET)

Room 1: Graduate Students

Keri Mallari, University of Washington 

Kiante Brantley, The University of Maryland College Park

Room 2: Junior Faculty

Jason Yip, University of Washington 

Sarita Schonebeck, University of Michigan 

Philip Guo, UC San Diego

Multiple Track Session B: What I wish I knew … 

(1:00 – 1:45pm PT / 4:00pm – 4:45pm ET)

Room 1: For early stage PhD students 

Jalessa Trapp, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Stephanie Valencia, Carnegie Mellon University

Judith Uchidiuno, National Robotics Engineering Center

Room 2: For late stage PhD students 

Tiffanie Smith, Lincoln University of PA

Brianna Posadas, Virginia Tech

Marvin Andujar, University of South Florida

Room 3: Early career faculty

Kinnis Gosha, Morehouse College

M.R. Morris, Google Research

Marcelo Worsley, Northwestern University

Day 1 – Wrap Up

(1:45 PM – 1:55PM PT / 4:45pm – 4:55pm ET)

DAY 2 – Saturday May 8th, 2021

Welcome back

(8:55am – 9:00am PT / 11:55am – 12:00pm ET)

Multiple Track Session: Getting Involved

(9:00-9:45am PT / 12:00pm – 12:45pm ET)

Session A: Publishing in SIGCHI venues and beyond

Learn about publishing venues and making an impact

Gillian Hayes, University of California, Irvine

Alexandra To, Northeastern University

Session B: Getting involved in SIGCHI/ CHIMe

Learn about opportunities to interact with others in the community

Wendy Roldan, University of Washington

Divine Maloney, Clemson University 

Tiffanie Smith, Lincoln University of PA

Robin Brewer, University of Michigan

Single Track Session: Job Opportunities in HCI

(10:00am – 10:45am PT / 1:00pm – 1:45pm ET)

Room 1: Undergrad-PhD

De’Aira Bryant, Amazon Web Services

Amy Ko, University of Washington 

Molly Nicholas, University of California, Berkeley

Room 2: PhD-jobs

Eugenia Rho, Stanford NLP Group

Denae Ford, Microsoft Research

Room 3: Early career

Pamela Wisniewski, University of Central Florida

Julie Hui, University of Michigan 

Larry F. Hodges, Clemson University

Closing

(11:00-11:15am PT / 2:00pm – 2:15pm ET)

Reflections from folks about the weekend

Optional Session E: Research Breakout Group Sessions 

(11:15am-12:00pm PT / 2:15pm – 3:00pm ET)

Self-organized based on topics of interest, opportunity network with folks in your research area like accessibility, education, healthcare, etc.